Do you remember what it was like to get around Miami before Uber was a thing? I know, it’s difficult to imagine not being able to order a ride straight from a phone app. But that used to be the reality, and not too long ago. As a Miami car accident lawyer who has handled Uber accident cases in Florida from the start, here’s what I can tell you that you need to think about before hiring an attorney for your Uber case.
How Much Insurance Coverage Is an Uber Driver Required to Have?
If you were in an Uber accident as a pedestrian, a passenger, or another driver, one of the first things you might be wondering is whether your injuries and damage to your car will be covered. Any Miami car accident lawyer who is any good knows this stuff if they want to handle Uber accident cases.
The good news is that, since then-Governor Rick Scott signed the “Uber/Lyft bill” into law in May of 2017, the entire state of Florida follows a uniform law that determines who can drive for Uber and what the insurance requirements are for each driver. Required coverages for rideshare drivers are as follows:
- When logged into the rideshare app but not providing a ride:
- $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person
- $100,000 for death and bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
- When providing a ride:
- $1 million for death, bodily injury, and property damage
- Personal injury protection (PIP) benefits as described under Florida Statute730 – 627.7405
- Uninsured/underinsured coverage as describes in Florida Statute 627.727
These coverage requirements will protect you as long as you have a Miami car accident lawyer who knows how to argue your case.
Will My PIP Protect Me?
You might think that if you are in an Uber accident that your PIP coverage will automatically pay for your injuries, lost wages, and property damage up to $10,000. Unfortunately, it might not. Unless your doctor determines that you have an “emergency medical condition,” you might only be eligible for $2,500 of PIP benefits, which could leave you holding the rest of the bill.
Here’s what you need to do to ensure that you are eligible for full benefits. First, you must call the police to the scene of the accident. The accident report that the police create after a car crash is the first step toward documenting your injuries and the damage to your property. Second, for your PIP to cover your medical bills, you must seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident.
Has the Miami Car Accident Lawyer Ever Handled an Uber Accident Case Before?
Perhaps the most important consideration you should make when choosing an attorney for your Uber Accident is whether they have actually taken on such a case before. At Pacin Levine Attorneys at Law, we have been handling Uber cases from the beginning. I have personally worked on well over 100 such cases, which not many attorneys in Florida can say.
Contact me today to discuss your case.