With the pandemic still spreading in areas of the country, traveling for the holidays might not be high on your list. But if it is and you plan to rent a car in your travels, there’s something you need to think about: what if you get into a rental car accident?
Will your insurance cover damage to the rental and treatment for your injuries if you choose not to purchase insurance from the rental company? What if you don’t own a car? Is there anything different about the claim process you need to know about?
These questions are just a few that you should be asking before you embark on your holiday travels to see family and friends. Here are a few pieces of information that you need to know.
What to Do After a Rental Car Accident
When you are in an accident, including if you are driving a rental car, you need to do four things as soon as possible:
- Get yourself and others to safety
- Seek medical treatment
- File a police report
- Inform your insurance company of the accident
If you are not too badly injured in the rental car accident, you need to collect all the same information from the other driver that you would collect in any car accident. You should also see if you can get any witnesses to make a statement and collect their information, too.
Before you drive off the rental lot, be sure that you know where to find the insurance information for the rental company. It should be in the glove box.
If You Are a Florida Resident
For Florida residents who own a car, the state requires at least $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage. When you rent a car in Florida, you will also need to have rental coverage. In the event of an accident, the PIP coverage will kick in first. This coverage will be applied no matter who is at fault in the accident.
What if the person you get into a rental car accident with does not have coverage? You should consider uninsured motorist coverage, just in case your injuries and property damage exceed the $10,000 PIP.
If your travels are taking you outside the Sunshine State and you plan to rent a car in another state, take note: be sure to check with your insurance on how insurance coverage will work in the states you plan to drive in.
What If You Don’t Own a Car?
You only need to carry car insurance if you own and drive a car in Florida, but what if you rent a car and do not own a car? What happens if you get into an accident in your rental car?
If you don’t have personal car insurance, you won’t have PIP coverage, so you will need to speak with your rental company to talk about what types of insurance they offer.
Were You in a Rental Car Accident and Need Help Getting Compensation?
Get in touch with Pacin Levine Attorneys at Law today to talk about your options.
Are you ready to pursue your case? Contact us today and set up an appointment to speak to an attorney. Call us at 1-800-24-7-CRASH or write to us at firstname.lastname@example.org.